June Donaghy Kramin

Hello everyone!  I hope your weekend has been a good one.  Please help me welcome my next guest.

I ‘m happy to introduce June Kramin today all the way from Hawaii!  June, happy to have you on my blog!  I have a few questions so readers can learn more about you.  I enjoy learning about different authors and how they started writing.  So here we go!

1. Can you tell us a bit about your background as a writer?

I’ve loved writing for as long as I can remember. Teachers from the 3rd grade & up have told me I’d be one someday. I never took it to heart until life finally slowed down. I was 40 when that happened. The first thing I pelted out was a full length novel. I’ve never had articles or short stories that I submitted anywhere. The overwhelming responses from family & friends made me keep going & pursue getting published.

2. Tell us about your Happily Ever After Series.

The main characters for the series are best friends, Valerie and Samantha. Each book takes you on an adventure that is a fairy tale or folklore re-told as they live it with the help of some amazing friends (such as Merlin the magician and their very own fairy godmother). They grow a year older in each book, and each one is a stand-alone story.  If King Arthur is your thing, not Rapunzel, you can read #3 without feeling like you would have had to read 1 & 2 to get there. The sayings the girls have shared over the years and anything that has sent me to the floor rolling in laughter has made it into these books. I’m really waiting for parents to want to beat me when their kids try peep fights in the microwave & their children are running around doing Val & Sam’s “Loser loser, double loser” ditty.

My daughter is the cover & sketch artist, she did the 1st one when she was only 14. I think it will always be my favorite.

3. What inspired you to write this series?

The 2 girls are actually based on my daughter and her best friend. I call them my duo of double-trouble for a good reason! (And I did not change the names to protect the guilty!) The 2 girls could not be any more opposite – it really makes for great material. The opening story of #1 where Val’s mom is scared by a possum in the barn actually happened. I can’t say why I started to write it out but wasn’t surprised when the story took the fairy tale twist. My favorite stories have always been fairy tales re-told. I guess I just wanted more.

4. Are you working on a new book?

I’m not working on any more in this series right now. Currently there are 9 in the series with 2 coming out each year. The girls get a year older with each book so I’ve sort of written myself out of a series unless & keep them going as a “tween” pair & write them into some young adult. I have been working on a prequel, although I can’t say for sure right now if I’ll make it work. Val has always wanted me to send them to Hawaii. I’ve toyed with that as well, but I’d have to come up with “Book 4 ½” or something like that. LOL. I’ll keep you posted. Book #5 is scheduled for release in November.

How long does it usually take you to write a book?

Oddly, one of these topping out at 30K takes me longer to write than an 80K women’s fiction. Some of them have taken a lot of legwork to get them to complete their task. I think #8 wins at 5 months.

Do you have a process you follow?

I’m not disciplined at all. I write every chance I can sneak in some time. Some days are extremely good to me. Val was only 8 when I started the 1st book. She used to read a chapter as I wrote it then would beg for more. That was great motivation!

5. Do you have a favorite place you like to write? Favorite time of the day to write? Do you listen to music while you write?

Nope to all. I get most of my writing done on my down time during my day. I don’t have a great spot at home that I lock myself in & call my own. For the most part, I’m standing at a table with an empty paper box to make it the right height. I can’t sit for too long – this works best for me. I also need total silence. I sing along to everything!

6. Links to your books and your websites

http://www.beforehappilyeverafter.com/

amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=ann+t+bugg

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/ann-t-bugg?store=allproducts&keyword=ann+t+bugg

Creatspace (Use code GMNY9TNC for $1.00 off): https://www.createspace.com/pub/simplesitesearch.search.do?sitesearch_query=ann+t+bugg&sitesearch_type=STORE

Thanks so much for having me!

So glad to have you!  Hope you will visit again!  🙂

 

Book #1 :

book 1 front-June
When best friends Valerie and Samantha discover a magic mirror in Val’s 100-year-old barn in southern Minnesota, they eagerly go through it. Immediately they run into the young Snow White, who has just escaped the huntsman. The girls vow to help her find her father, knowing the dangers that await. On their journey, the fun-loving double-trouble duo quickly discovers they are caught up in the middle of their favorite fairy tales.

Having the knowledge of the stories as their only weapon, Val and Sam help two other princesses, make a surprising friend, and discover they have a fairy godmother of their very own.

Book #2:

book cover 2-June
It’s time for Samantha’s summer visit again. Both she and Val are anxious to see if they will take another magical journey through the mirror. After learning of a problem with one of the horses, Odette makes her appearance and tells the girls it’s up to them to help him.

What Charlie needs is something that can only be found in their magical land. It can’t be given to them; they have to solves riddles and discover the answers themselves. A family of elves guides them, but even elf powers are limited when it comes to what stands between the girls and what they seek.

Trolls and unicorns were everything they imagined and more, but rescuing Rapunzel from her tower was an added bonus they never saw coming.

Book #3:

book cover 3June
Valerie and Samantha are disappointed that their schedules were not allowing them to spend a week together this summer like they have done every year since they were young. Their parents are able to plan a weekend camping trip towards the end of summer.

The girls are happy for the visit, but sad to think they can’t go through the mirror this year on another adventure. They discover the magic is not only within the mirror, but within themselves when they are together.

Merlin the magician makes a timely appearance to take them on their quest to help Arthur find his true identity and his place in Camelot.

Book #4:

book cover 4 front- June

There is no magic mirror around, no sign of a frog or a possum, as Valerie and Samantha get ready for a canoe trip down the river with Val’s dad. As they wait for him by the river, their world transforms before their eyes. Through the stormy sky, a dragon approaches. With the help of a young man who suddenly appears, they take cover.

Discovering a baby dragon hidden in his knapsack and his intentions with it, they know what they are sent here to do. They didn’t expect the task at the end of their adventure: to help awaken a sleeping princess.


http://about.me/june.kramin
http://www.junekramin.com/
http://www.beforehappilyeverafter.com/
http://www.facebook.com/JuneKramin
 

 

 

About sarastinson

Sara is the youngest child of three children. She grew up in a small town in Elba, Alabama. She grew up reading “The Nancy Drew” series. She also enjoyed reading over and over the “13 Alabama Ghosts and Jeffrey” by Kathryn Tucker Windham and Margaret Gillis Figh. After retiring from teaching, her own children encouraged her to start writing. “Finger Bones” (Volume 1 and 2) was written. She is writing the third volume now. She has also written a Young Adult book called Night Owl. It's Book One from the Hally Witch Series and will be published in October 2015. She is currently working on another Young Adult book called Jordan - Circle of Fire. Her goal is to have it out by December 2015. Sara continues to substitute at nearby schools. She enjoys sharing her characters with her students. They have become her cheering squad along with her family.
This entry was posted in Author Guest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to June Donaghy Kramin

  1. I love this interview! Great to learn more about you June. I didn’t know Val & Sam are based on your daughter and her best friend. I bet they had some adventures if Val & Sam in the books are base on them 🙂

    Paul R. Hewlett

  2. June Kramin says:

    Thanks so much for having me as a guest on your blog, Sara! It was fun!
    Funny I never told you that, Paul. Yes… they were quite the stinkers. Easy targets for these books! 😀

    June aka: Ann T Bugg

  3. sarastinson says:

    Happy to have you, June! I do hope many buy and read these wonderful books. I love imaginary worlds and stories. 🙂
    Reading rocks!

  4. sharonledwith says:

    I hear ya on the middle-grade taking lots of time to create, June! I love how your series has developed! Wishing you all the best in your publishing endeavors. Tweek those stinkers for me, and tell your daughter she done good on the art! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

