Join the Fun! It’s a Blog Hop!

BLOG HOP for FINGER BONES

I was invited by my friend, Lisa Orchard, to participate in a “blog hop interview.” Lisa sent me some interview questions, which I answer here on my blog. Following my answers, I tag 3 other writers who will, in turn, answer questions on their blogs next week. It’s been fun checking out the Blog Hops to see what other children’s authors have posted!

Lisa posted her answers to the questions at her blog, on July 29th. If you like, you can leave a comment on her blog and tell her that you connected to her through my link here!

http://www.lisaorchard.com/       Click on the Blog button on her website.

 

Here are my answers to the questions that I chose from the list:

  1. What are you working on right now?

I have several ideas brewing in my head.  I am writing the second book of Finger Bones called, Finger Bones and the Ghost Dog.  I am also editing a young adult book called The Hally Witch of Magic Hollow

2.  How does it differ from other works in its genre?

A 122-year-old ghost helps three eleven-year-old kids chase ghosts and helps send them to their next destination.  The use of magic and incantations are used to finish the job.  All the ideas thrown together create a different and wonderful story for all ages!  I hope my books are not only entertaining, but teach some values like courage and teamwork.

3.  Why do you write what you do?

I am a retired Speech-Language Pathologist.  I taught for twenty-five years.  Because I loved what I did, I continue to substitute.  I taught all ages.  Even though Finger Bones is for third grade and up (middle-grade to young adult), I feel all ages will enjoy.

 

The books I have written so far contain magic.  Maybe the thought of magic really existing entices me to write what I write.  Or maybe…magic exists!

4.  How does your writing process work?

Finger Bones was created after I saw a picture of a local citizen hanging on a wall at a local restaurant.  The African-American was sitting on the front steps of his aged cabin.  As I was flipping through some books at the library on another day,  I came across the words bony fingers.  I turned it around to Finger Bones.  That’s how my ideas start.

 

When I write, I know what the beginning and ending will be, and I have a few ideas for the middle.  Like other authors, I let my characters lead me the rest of the way.  I do write a draft outline of the chapters, but it tends to change.  Whenever I have a thought, I immediately write it down.  I carry a small pad with me everywhere I go.  I have been known to pull out my notepad at the schools I work at and in the middle of the grocery store.

 

Joining my Blog Hop is:

Julia Templeton     (A MacKinnon Curse Novels) AWESOME!  I’ve read all three.  She has other books too!

http://www.jatempleton.com/books/thedeepestcut

https://www.facebook.com/julia.templeton.5

 

Here are two other great authors who are busy at the moment either getting their new book edited and ready for publishing or promoting their next book:

S.A. Hunter    http://www.sahunter.net/

Julie Cassar    http://juliecassar.weebly.com/

About sarastinson

Sara is the youngest child of three children. She grew up in a small town in Elba, Alabama. She grew up reading “The Nancy Drew” series. She also enjoyed reading over and over the “13 Alabama Ghosts and Jeffrey” by Kathryn Tucker Windham and Margaret Gillis Figh. After retiring from teaching, her own children encouraged her to start writing. “Finger Bones” (Volume 1 and 2) was written. She is writing the third volume now. She has also written a Young Adult book called Night Owl. It's Book One from the Hally Witch Series and will be published in October 2015. She is currently working on another Young Adult book called Jordan - Circle of Fire. Her goal is to have it out by December 2015. Sara continues to substitute at nearby schools. She enjoys sharing her characters with her students. They have become her cheering squad along with her family.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Join the Fun! It’s a Blog Hop!

  1. Lisa Orchard says:

    Great post Sara! 🙂 Thanks for participating in the hop! I’ve had fun reading your post! 🙂

  2. sarastinson says:

    Thank you for dropping by and reading, Lisa!

  3. sharonledwith says:

    Wow, love how you shared your history, Sara! It’s funny how writers get awesome ideas out of the blue! Cheers for a great post! I’ll be part of this hop on August 12th!

Leave a comment